Clinical Advisory Board

Dr. Doug Weaver, MD, FACC

Dr. Doug Weaver is the immediate past president of the American College of Cardiology (ACC). He also serves as the Division Head of Cardiovascular Medicine, the Darin Chair of Cardiology, and Director of the Henry Ford Cardiovascular Institute at the Henry Ford Health System and as a Professor of Medicine at Wayne State University in Michigan.

Dr. Weaver’s academic and research interests include cardiac resuscitation, heart failure and acute coronary syndromes. He has been an active leader of multi-center clinical trials and has published more than 300 original articles. He has been the recipient of several RO1, American Heart Association, and industry-sponsored grants. He has been named by Castle Connolly as one of “America’s Top Doctors” and he has served on many different committees and task forces for the ACC: he chaired the Scientific Sessions Task Force, the Budget, Finance and Investment Committee, the Education Task Force and is a member of the Property Task Force.

He received his medical degree from Tufts University School of Medicine and completed his Internal Medicine and Cardiology training at the University of Washington. After completing his fellowship, he practiced Cardiology in Germany for the United States Army Medical Corps for three years. He then returned to work at the University of Washington, where he rose to the rank of professor. For the past ten years, he has been working at Henry Ford, where he now chairs the Finance Committee for the Medical Group, and is a member of the Hospital Medical Executive Committee, the Chairs Council, the Leadership and Executive Group, and the Philanthropy Committee. 

Dr. Benjamin Abella, MD, MPhil

Dr.Benjamin Abella is Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Attending Physician, Department of Emergency Medicine, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and Clinical Research Director, Center for Resuscitation Science, University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Abella studies sudden cardiac arrest, a leading cause of death that claims more than 200,000 lives each year in the United States. Specifically, projects within his clinical research team include: (1) evaluation of CPR and resuscitation performance, (2) testing new methods to teach CPR in the community, (3) prognostication of neurologic outcomes after cardiac arrest, and (4) methods to improve the application of therapeutic hypothermia. Dr. Abella is also the developer and Medical Director of a novel training course for therapeutic hypothermia use in the hospital setting.

Dr. Abella has published scholarly work in numerous professional journals including JAMA and Circulation, and has authored review monographs and textbook chapters on cardiac arrest and resuscitation. He serves on the American Heart Association Emergency Cardiovascular Care task force and has participated in developing international CPR guidelines. He has won a number of honors for his research, clinical care in the Emergency Department and his teaching of residents and medical students, and has lectured widely on the topics of cardiac arrest and post-arrest hypothermia treatment.

Professor Jennifer Adgey, MD, CBE

Professor Jennifer Adgey, a well-known and respected authority in the field of Clinical Cardiac Research, chairs HeartSine Technology’s Medical Advisory Board.

Since 1971, Professor Adgey has held the position of Consultant Cardiologist at the Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast and in 1991 became a Professor of Cardiology (Honorary).

She is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, London, as well as a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology.

Professor Adgey has published more than 200 papers in the field of Cardiology, focused primarily on studies related to pre-hospital cardiac care, myocardial infarction, and sudden death.

Dr. David McEneaney, MD

Dr. David McEneaney is a leading consultant cardiologist in the Southern Trust, Northern Ireland. He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer in Medicine at Queen’s University Belfast. Prior to his current appointments he was a senior fellow in cardiac electrophysiology at Lahey Clinic, Massachusetts, USA. His clinical interests include cardiac electrophysiology, heart failure and cardiac implanted device therapy.

He is Director of the Cardiovascular Research Unit, Craigavon Area Hospital and Co-director of the Centre for Advanced Cardiovascular Research at the Nanotechnology and Integrated Bioengineering Centre (NIBEC) at the University of Ulster. His research interests include clinical cardiac electrophysiology, telemedicine, resuscitation science and novel cardiac/renal biomarkers. He has been an investigator or co-investigator in more than twenty clinical trials of cardiovascular therapeutic agents and devices. He has developed successful research collaborations with several biotechnology and medical device companies.

Dr. Rudolph Koster, MD

He studied medicine at the University of Amsterdam, followed by an internship in Baltimore and a fellowship in Cardiology. He became a clinical cardiologist at the Academic Medical Center in Amsterdam. Since the early 90’s, Rudy Koster has pursued a remarkably successful academic career as a clinical cardiologist, with a research focus on arrhythmia and sudden death.  His publication list is impressive and many studies have had a significant impact on the European Resuscitation Council (ERC) guidelines for resuscitation. His career in the ERC started 20 years ago initially as the representative of the European Society of Cardiology since 2003 as Chair of the Working Group of BLS/AED.  He has directly contributed to the development of many editions of the ERC guidelines. Later on, Rudy Koster represented the ERC in the International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation as the co-chair of the BLS/AED task force.


Related Content